Coupon
The Boleyn King
by Laura Andersen


Overview - NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime's The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 61 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Boleyn King by Laura Andersen
 
 
 
Overview
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime's The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?

Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William's mother, Anne Boleyn.

Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king's desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England's fortunes forever.

Includes a preview of Laura Andersen's The Boleyn Deceit

Praise for The Boleyn King

"Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that's reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory."--Library Journal (starred review)

"Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans."--Booklist (starred review)

"A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read."--Historical Novels Review

"Andersen's novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy."--RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)

"A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love."--Deseret News

" 'What if . . .' With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth's lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous--and dangerous--court in Europe."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill's Secretary

"Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting."--Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345534095
  • ISBN-10: 0345534093
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: May 2013
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.1 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds

Series: Boleyn Trilogy #1

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Sagas
Books > Fiction > Romance - Historical - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews