Coupon
The Book of Mistakes
by Corinna Luyken


Overview - Zoom meets Beautiful Oops in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $13.29
    (Save 30%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 10.63

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 11 copies from $10.07
 
 
 

More About The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken
 
 
 
Overview
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges... they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go , it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780735227927
  • ISBN-10: 0735227926
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: April 2017
  • Page Count: 56
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-7
  • Dimensions: 11.7 x 9.8 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Imagination & Play
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Art & Architecture

 
BookPage Reviews

A colorful lesson on creativity

What’s it like inside the mind of an artist at work? Readers will get an uplifting look at the process in Corinna Luyken’s debut picture book, The Book of Mistakes.

“It started with one mistake,” the book begins, showing a small face on a big white page with one eye noticeably larger than the other. Even the correction fails, as the new eye is even larger than the first. Then voilà, a pair of bright green glasses fixes everything.

As this face evolves into a girl, clever fixes cover additional mistakes: a lacy collar on a too-long neck, elbow patches that disguise a misshapen elbow, roller skates on shoes that don’t touch the ground. Mistakes pile on as the roller-skating girl gradually becomes part of an elaborate, poster-worthy scene: a giant tree full of kids floating through the sky on wildly imagined, balloon-powered contraptions. Anticipation and excitement mount as each part of the scene unfolds through Luyken’s striking use of black ink, white space and deft additions of soft green, yellow and pink watercolor and colored pencil.

Just when you think the scene is complete, Luyken has another trick up her sleeve, deflecting readers’ attention back to the artist and how art is made, warts and all.

Mistakes in art—as in life—happen, and Luyken shows young readers in a glorious way how they often lead to bigger and better outcomes than anyone could imagine.

 

This article was originally published in the May 2017 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews