Coupon
The Book of Speculation
by Erika Swyler and Ari Fliakos


Overview -

"Dazzling... a] quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga." --Sara Gruen, author of "Water for Elephants"

Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead.  Read more...


 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • $39.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 7 copies from $8.63
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler; Ari Fliakos
 
 
 
Overview

"Dazzling... a] quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga." --Sara Gruen, author of "Water for Elephants"

Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.

One June day, an old book arrives on Simon's doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of "mermaids" in Simon's family have drowned--always on July 24, which is only weeks away.

As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon's family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola?

In the tradition of Sara Gruen's "Water for Elephants, "Erin Morgenstern's "The Night Circus, "and Elizabeth Kostova's "The Historian, The Book of Speculation "is Erika Swyler's moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781427261434
  • ISBN-10: 1427261431
  • Publisher: MacMillan Audio
  • Publish Date: June 2015
  • Dimensions: 5.9 x 5.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Sagas

 
BAM Customer Reviews