Coupon
Boon Island : A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism
by Stephen A. Erickson and Andrew Vietze


Overview - The wreck of the Nottingham Galley on Boon Island and the resultant rumors of insurance fraud, mutiny, treason, and cannibalism was one of the most sensational stories of the early 18th century. Shortly after departing England with Captain John Deane at the helm, his brother Jasper and another investor aboard, and a skeleton crew, the ship encountered French privateers on her way to Ireland, where she then lingered for weeks picking up cargo.  Read more...

 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $5.59
 
eBook
Retail Price: $15.99
$11.18

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

 
 
 

More About Boon Island by Stephen A. Erickson; Andrew Vietze
 
 
 
Overview
The wreck of the Nottingham Galley on Boon Island and the resultant rumors of insurance fraud, mutiny, treason, and cannibalism was one of the most sensational stories of the early 18th century. Shortly after departing England with Captain John Deane at the helm, his brother Jasper and another investor aboard, and a skeleton crew, the ship encountered French privateers on her way to Ireland, where she then lingered for weeks picking up cargo. They eventually headed into the North Atlantic later in the season than was reasonably safe and found themselves shipwrecked on the notorious Boon Island, just off the New England coast. Captain Deane offered one version of the events that led them to the barren rock off the coast of Maine; his crew proposed another. The story contains mysteries that endure to this day, yet no contemporary non-fiction account of the story exists. In the hands of skilled storytellers Andrew Vietze and Stephen Erickson, this becomes a historical adventure-mystery that will appeal to readers of South and The Perfect Storm.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780762777525
  • ISBN-10: 0762777524
  • Publisher: Globe Pequot Press
  • Publish Date: November 2012
  • Page Count: 232
  • Dimensions: 9.05 x 6.18 x 0.58 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.68 pounds


Related Categories

Books > History > United States - State & Local - New England (CT, MA, ME, NH,
Books > History > United States - State & Local - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews