Coupon
Boy, 9, Missing
by Nic Joseph


Overview -

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth , this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $15.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
eBook
Retail Price: $15.99
$10.54

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Boy, 9, Missing by Nic Joseph
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He's tried to move on in the last twenty-three years, even though his father certainly hasn't. Indeed, his father still blames the lone witness, Sam, the nine-year-old son of friends. Perhaps if Sam would have just said something, anything, about what happened that night, but Sam still seems unable-or unwilling-to utter a word about the accident.

And now, twenty-three years later, Sam's own nine-year-old son has disappeared.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781492633587
  • ISBN-10: 1492633585
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 336


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Psychological
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-07-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

Joseph’s debut is a heart-wrenching chronicle of two families, one with a missing son, the other still reeling from the death of a son years before. In 1992, nine-year-old Lucas Scroll was found dead in a bathtub in his parents’ home in a Chicago suburb. The last person to see Lucas alive was Sam Farr, a classmate who was over for dinner that fatal night. Fast forward to 2015, when Sam’s nine-year-old son, Matthew, has gone missing, and former cop Alex Scroll, Lucas’s father, is the prime suspect. Caught in the middle of the maelstrom is Francis Scroll, now Francis Clarke, Lucas’s older brother. Confronted by the missing boy’s mother, Miranda Farr, Francis doesn’t want to believe that his father is involved, but he can’t be sure. So he sets out to find Matthew and end the newest chapter of a drama he’s tried for decades to leave behind. Only a few forgotten details, which don’t affect the overall storytelling or denouement, mar this page-turner with its haunting, well-developed characters and tantalizing plot. Agent: Barbara Poelle, Irene Goodman Literary Agency. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews