Coupon
The Boys in the Boat : Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
by Daniel James Brown


Overview - For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans.  Read more...


 
Large Print Paperback
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 13 copies from $12.63
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781594137792
  • ISBN-10: 159413779X
  • Publisher: Large Print Press
  • Publish Date: June 2014
  • Page Count: 741


Related Categories

Books > Sports & Recreation > History
Books > Sports & Recreation > Olympics & Paralympics
Books > Sports & Recreation > Boating - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews