Coupon
The Boys of Fire and Ash
by Meaghan Mcisaac


Overview - "The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."-- Kirkus


Fans of Rick Riordan and Anthony Horowitz will want to read this action-filled debut novel that offers a new world to enjoy and a new underdog to root for.-- Booklist

Abandoned at birth, the Brothers of the Ikkuma Pit know no mothers.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 16 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Boys of Fire and Ash by Meaghan Mcisaac
 
 
 
Overview
"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus


Fans of Rick Riordan and Anthony Horowitz will want to read this action-filled debut novel that offers a new world to enjoy and a new underdog to root for.--Booklist

Abandoned at birth, the Brothers of the Ikkuma Pit know no mothers. They fend for themselves, each training their Little Brother to survive until they turn sixteen, when it's their Leaving Day. No boy knows what's beyond the forest. But when Urgle's Little Brother, Cubby, is carried off by troll-like predators, Urgle and two of his Brothers embark on a quest to rescue him from a place from which no one has ever returned.

More praise for The Boys of Fire and Ash:


"McIsaac's debut fantasy novel is fast-paced and heartstopping. . . . This self-contained story is an entertaining read that will be enjoyed by many."--School Library Journal

"The novel is urgently gritty, with rich worldbuilding and plenty of action."--Publishers Weekly

"Contemplative readers will be left with questions to ponder and ethical decisions to mull as well as a satisfying and tense read."--The Bulletin

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385744454
  • ISBN-10: 0385744455
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Publish Date: May 2015
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.6 x 5.9 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-04-27
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this immersive fantasy, Urgle is one of the boys of the Ikkuma Pit, left alone in the ash of a volcanic caldera as babies; those who live through the night are taken in by "Big Brothers" and taught to survive. At maturity, they must leave the pit forever. When Blaze, a returnee from the outside, seeks refuge, he brings destruction with him, and Urgle's "Little Brother," Cubby, is taken away by bestial Tunrars. Urgle is unskilled, but he'll do anything to save his Little Brother. Together with Blaze and a tiny band of Ikkuma boys, he sets off to find the Beginners' High Temple, a cult with sinister plans for Cubby. The underlying creation myth that tries to explain why the tribe would abandon its male babies is somewhat hard to swallow, but the novel is urgently gritty, with rich worldbuilding and plenty of action. McIsaac's debut is at its best when it focuses on Urgle, a misfit among the discarded, cleaving to his quest in a world so alien to him. Ages 10–up. Agent: Alison McDonald, The Rights Factory. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews