(0)
 
Breathe
by Sarah Crossan

Overview -

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $15.96
    (Save 11%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Breathe by Sarah Crossan
 
 
 
Overview

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062118691
  • ISBN-10: 0062118692
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Publish Date: October 2012
  • Page Count: 373
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - Survival Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Science & Technology

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-10-08
  • Reviewer: Staff

In the start of a new trilogy, Crossan explores a dystopian world in which oxygen is a rare commodity, strictly controlled by the government of a domed city that houses much of the world’s diminished population. Sixteen-year-old Quinn, a wealthy Premium, and his best friend Bea, one of the city’s many underprivileged Auxiliaries, are about to embark on a camping trip outside the pod when they meet Alina, part of a band of rebels dedicated to replanting trees and restoring the oxygen-rich atmosphere of generations past. As the three work to stay alive in the deadly outside world, their fragile bond is threatened as tensions rise to the point of all-out war and revolution. The concept of Crossan’s first YA novel has potential, and it’s enlivened by her attention to detail, the trio of narrators, and constant tension. But while the story is well-executed, with characters readers will grow to care about, its reliance on well-worn themes of governmental corruption and class warfare may make it difficult to stand out in a crowded genre. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sarah Davies, Greenhouse Literary Agency. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION