Coupon
Brighton
by Michael Harvey


Overview -

"The f**king bomb I loved it." --Stephen King

"I couldn't stop reading." --John Grisham

A gritty and suspenseful Boston thriller for fans of Dennis Lehane and The Departed

An extraordinary thriller--gripping, haunting, and marvelously told--about two friends growing up in a rapidly changing Boston, who must face the sins of their past in the midst of a series of brutal murders.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $27.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 78 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Brighton by Michael Harvey
 
 
 
Overview

"The f**king bomb I loved it." --Stephen King

"I couldn't stop reading." --John Grisham

A gritty and suspenseful Boston thriller for fans of Dennis Lehane and The Departed

An extraordinary thriller--gripping, haunting, and marvelously told--about two friends growing up in a rapidly changing Boston, who must face the sins of their past in the midst of a series of brutal murders.

"You came back here to bury your past. . . . Thing is, you gotta kill it first."

Kevin Pearce--baseball star, honor student, the pride of Brighton--was fifteen when he left town in the back of his uncle's cab. He and his buddy Bobby Scales had just committed heinous violence for what they thought were the best of reasons. Kevin didn't want a pass, but he was getting it anyway. Bobby would stay and face the music; Kevin's future would remain bright as ever. At least that was the way things were supposed to work, except in Brighton things never work the way they're supposed to.

Twenty-six years later, Kevin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist for the Boston Globe. He's never been back to his old block, having avoided his family and, especially, Bobby Scales. Then he learns his old friend is the prime suspect in a string of local murders. Suddenly, Kevin's headed home--to protect a friend and the secret they share. To report this story to the end and protect those he loves, he must face not only an elusive, slippery killer, but his own corrupted conscience.

A powerhouse of a thriller, Brighton is a riveting and elegiac exploration of promises broken, debts owed, and old wrongs made right . . . no matter what the cost.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062442970
  • ISBN-10: 006244297X
  • Publisher: Ecco Press
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6.2 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Crime
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-04-18
  • Reviewer: Staff

This gritty standalone from Harvey (The Innocence Game) focuses on two childhood friends who have gone in dramatically different directions as adults. Kevin Pearce starts life as an intelligent young man born into poverty and a brutal home life in 1970s Brighton, a hard-bitten section of Boston. Kevin’s best friend, Bobby Scales, is a violent urban Huck Finn who’s also capable and loyal. After Kevin’s grandmother is murdered in a grisly home invasion, Kevin and Bobby ambush and slay the killer. Twenty-seven years later, Kevin, now a Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist, discovers that the gun Bobby used to shoot his grandmother’s killer is the same gun used in the recent murder of an undercover policewoman. Kevin searches for the connection, which reunites him with Bobby, now a tough Brighton bookie. Harvey crisply evokes the dark side of the Boston urban underclass inhabiting a fractured neighborhood in a constant state of casual violence and brutality. An intense, twist-filled climax caps the unremittingly gloomy but moving story. Agent: David Gernert, Gernert Company. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews