Carried to Dust
by Calexico

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Carried to Dust by Calexico

Track Listing

1 Victor Jara's Hands
2 Two Silver Trees
3 News About William, The
4 Sarabande in Pencil Form
5 Writer's Minor Holiday
6 Man Made Lake
7 Inspiraci¢n
8 House of Valparaiso
9 Slowness
10 Hole in Your Head (Bend to the Road)
11 Gatillo, El (Trigger Revisited)
12 Fractured Air (Tornado Watch)
13 Falling from Sleeves
14 Red Blooms
15 Contention City

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: September 2008
  • Label: Quarterstick
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Craig Schumacher; John Convertino
  • Engineer: Chris Schultz; Nick Luca
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Spin (p.114) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Bouncing from South American political icons to snowy Russian cities, CARRIED TO DUST's songs travel a trail that seems carved out of ancient echoes."

Alternative Press (p.153) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[M]ost of DUST's tracks have a cinematic quality, from the haunting strings of the shockingly Simon And Garfunkel-esque 'The News About William' to the full-blown mariachi vibe of 'Inspiracion'..."

Magnet (p.102) - "Burns and Convertino have swapped sincere-yet-simplistic politics for mysterious, discursive travelogues and brought back the mariachi horns and twangy desert guitars."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.112) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "This time the desert noir instrumentals are back and as captivating as ever, ranging from spaghetti western to orchestral."

Blender (Magazine) (p.79) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his Arizona six-piece makes music about drifing from crumbling dance halls to off-the-grid cantinas, all richly evoked by Ennio Morricone guitars, mariachi horns and pedal steel."

Paste (magazine) (p.59) - "CARRIED TO DUST is all wide-open spaces....Journeying infuses most of the album, from 'Bend to the Road' to haunting closer 'Contention City'....This one is a beauty from start to finish."

Clash (magazine) (p.109) - "Central track 'Man Made Lake' tells the whole story -- poetic, beautiful and with that familiar Mexican sound to it."

Customer Reviews