Coupon
The Cabinet of Curiosities : 36 Tales Brief & Sinister
by Stefan Bachmann and Katherine Catmull and Claire Legrand and Emma Trevayne


Overview -

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 12 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Cabinet of Curiosities by Stefan Bachmann; Katherine Catmull; Claire Legrand; Emma Trevayne
 
 
 
Overview

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school

The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062331052
  • ISBN-10: 0062331051
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Publish Date: May 2014
  • Page Count: 486
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.7 x 1.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fairy Tales & Folklore - Adaptations
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-05-26
  • Reviewer: Staff

This collection of 36 short dark fantasies from Bachmann, Catmull, Legrand, and Trevayne aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably. The conceit is that the authors are curators of the eponymous cabinet, a magical museum that houses the often-dangerous souvenirs and stories they bring back from their Indiana Jones–like adventures. Among the many delicious tales are Bachmann's "Johnny Knockers," which concerns the fate of a whaling ship after its crew discovers a small boy inside a whale; Legrand's "Mirror, Mirror," which tells of a nasty preteen who looks into a mirror and finds more than she bargained for; Trevayne's "The Circus," the story of a traveling circus's horrifyingly bad luck; and Catmull's "Dark Valentine," which illustrates why you don't want your dead girlfriend contacting you by cellphone. Many of these are moral tales in which nasty children or adults die horribly; others, though, feature perfectly nice people who meet similarly gruesome ends. Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight. Ages 8–12. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews