Coupon
It Came in the Mail
by Ben Clanton


Overview - From the author-illustrator of Something Extraordinary comes a tale filled with dragons, pickles, friendship, and lots of mail--perfect for fans of Mo Williams and Bob Shea.

Liam really wants some mail, so he writes a letter to his mailbox asking for something in return.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $12.18
    (Save 32%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $5.32
 
 
 

More About It Came in the Mail by Ben Clanton
 
 
 
Overview
From the author-illustrator of Something Extraordinary comes a tale filled with dragons, pickles, friendship, and lots of mail--perfect for fans of Mo Williams and Bob Shea.

Liam really wants some mail, so he writes a letter to his mailbox asking for something in return. His mailbox delivers, sending Liam more than he could have hoped for...and how But as the mail starts to pile up, Liam realizes that the best packages and parcels are even better when shared with friends.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781481403603
  • ISBN-10: 1481403605
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-8
  • Dimensions: 11.2 x 8.8 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-03-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

Liam, a wide-eyed, freckle-faced kid with brushy hair, wishes for more mail. He writes a letter to his mailbox: “I would like to get something in the mail. Something big! Please! Love, Liam.” The results are spectacular. “When Liam looked inside, he was met by a blast of fire. A dragon had come in the mail!” That might have satisfied some children, but Liam wants more, and he gets it, as a fountain of odd objects and cheerful creatures erupts from his mailbox (some with their own in-jokes, like the snail who says, “Je m’appelle Wes Cargo!”). Clanton’s story shapes up like a Sorcerer’s Apprentice–type tale that will end badly, but Liam generously distributes his mailbox wealth to other children, who are delighted. In keeping with the postal theme, Clanton (Something Extraordinary) draws on postcards, envelopes, and writing paper, his big-eyed, amiable creatures assuring readers that everything’s under control. In this genial twist on a fable of greed, Liam receives everything he wants and becomes a better person for it—and he gets to keep his dragon, too. Ages 4–8. Agent: Marietta Zacker, Nancy Gallt Literary Agency. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews