Coupon
The Case of the Missing Moonstone (the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)
by Jordan Stratford and Kelly Murphy


Overview - History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of "The Mysterious Benedict Society" and Lemony Snicket
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of "Frankenstein") meet as girls and form a secret detective agency
Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $10.13
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Case of the Missing Moonstone (the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1) by Jordan Stratford; Kelly Murphy
 
 
 
Overview
History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of "The Mysterious Benedict Society" and Lemony Snicket
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of "Frankenstein") meet as girls and form a secret detective agency
Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.
Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385754408
  • ISBN-10: 038575440X
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: January 2015
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12

Series: Wollstonecraft Detective Agency #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Europe
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-10-20
  • Reviewer: Staff

This smart and witty first book in the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency mystery series features celebrated figures Ada Lovelace, considered the world’s first computer programmer, and Mary Shelley, credited with creating the science fiction genre, as young detectives-in-training. Although Stratford (who raised more than $90,000 on Kickstarter to publish the series, prior to its acquisition) admits he’s taken liberties with some facts and dates, he vividly recreates the social and economic milieu of 1826 England through the girls’ eyes. Lady Ada, 11, is an awkward but brilliant mathematician, while Mary, 14, is socially adept and loves the romantic, adventurous side of life. When the girls come across newspaper pieces about crime, they resolve form a “secret constabulary” to catch criminals. As they use quick thinking, book smarts, and social know-how to find a stolen gemstone with the help (willing and unwilling) of their tutor, Peebs (Percy Bysshe Shelley), and travelmate (a young Charles Dickens), they also navigate the difficult terrain of despair and injustice. Skilled b&w illustrations and comical narration and dialogue will charm readers thoroughly. Ages 8–12. Author’s agent: Heather Schroder, Compass Talent Agency. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews