Coupon
The Case of the Missing Moonstone
by Jordan Stratford and Kelly Murphy


Overview - History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world's first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein ) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency

Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius.
  Read more...

 
In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $4.05
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Case of the Missing Moonstone by Jordan Stratford; Kelly Murphy
 
 
 
Overview
History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world's first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency

Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude--but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada's first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency--a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it's no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.

Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.

From the Hardcover edition.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385754439
  • ISBN-10: 0385754434
  • Publisher: Yearling Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.2 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35 pounds

Series: Wollstonecraft Detective Agency #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Europe

 
BAM Customer Reviews