Coupon
Chaos : Making a New Science
by James Gleick


Overview - The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick the author of Time Travel: A History that reveals the science behind chaos theory
A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time.
  Read more...

 
Paperback - Anniv. Ed.
  • $21.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 18.90

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $7.00
 
 
 

More About Chaos by James Gleick
 
 
 
Overview
The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick the author ofTime Travel: A History that reveals the science behind chaos theory
A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143113454
  • ISBN-10: 0143113453
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: August 2008
  • Page Count: 360
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP


Related Categories

Books > Science > Chaotic Behavior in Systems

 
BAM Customer Reviews