Coupon
Chaos Unleashed
by Drew Karpyshyn


Overview - The Demon Cycle meets The Wheel of Time in this action-packed adventure From New York Times bestselling author and acclaimed videogame writer Drew Karpyshyn comes the third and final novel in an original epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Terry Goodkind, Peter V.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • 10% Off For Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Chaos Unleashed by Drew Karpyshyn
 
 
 
Overview
The Demon Cycle meets The Wheel of Time in this action-packed adventure From New York Times bestselling author and acclaimed videogame writer Drew Karpyshyn comes the third and final novel in an original epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Terry Goodkind, Peter V. Brett, and Brandon Sanderson.

Four unlikely champions, each touched with Chaos magic at birth, are all that can stop the return of Daemron the Slayer, a hero who became a god and then a demon. Exiled by the Old Gods, Daemron has long plotted his vengeful return. Now that moment is at hand, as the barrier imprisoning him the Legacy crumbles.
Armed with mighty Talismans, the four champions Keegan, a wizard beset with self-doubt; Cassandra, a seer terrified by her own future; Scythe, a peerless warrior whose only weak spot is a broken heart; and Vaaler, a prince without a kingdom seek the Keystone, a fabled place where, or so it is said, the Legacy can be restored.
But the plots of the Slayer are cunning and deep, and even the most noble heart can be twisted by the tainted magic of Chaos as Keegan, Cassandra, Scythe, and Vaaler will soon discover.
Praise for Chaos Unleashed

A rich fantasy tale dripping with dark elements of horror and driven by . . . characters that will have you flipping pages deep into the night to see what happens next. Roqoo Depot
Praise for Drew Karpyshyn s Chaos Born series

Karpyshyn s doom-laden spin on myth and magic invigorates ancient archetypes . . . as if Michael Moorcock s decadence were filtered through J.R.R. Tolkien s heroism. Publishers Weekly, on The Scorched Earth
Thoroughly entertaining . . . an engrossing story that s easy to dive into and hard to leave. Roqoo Depot, on Children of Fire"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345549372
  • ISBN-10: 0345549376
  • Publisher: Del Rey Books
  • Publish Date: October 2015
  • Page Count: 416

Series: Chaos Born

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Fantasy - Epic
Books > Fiction > Action & Adventure
Books > Fiction > Fantasy - Dark Fantasy

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-08-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

The torpid final volume of the Chaos Born trilogy (after The Scorched Earth) reintroduces its array of archetypal characters and multiple narrative threads for new readers, but as a consequence, the plot moves glacially slowly for those not already invested. Reader involvement is hampered by bland, obvious dialogue. Mage Keegan, warrior Scythe, and visionary Jerrod try to overcome exhaustion and depression while deciphering the best way to use magical talismans to oppose their foe, the demigod Daemron. Their wounded compatriot Cassandra guards the talisman crown, accepting aid from sensible healer Methodis, Chaos mage Rexol, and brutish pirate Bo-Shing. Meanwhile, warrior nomad Shalana and exiled Danaan prince Vaaler meander across the fantasy landscape, semi-accidentally building an army as they seek to aid Keegan and face down generic zealot Yasmin. The welcome reunion of Keegan and Scythe with Cassandra is marred by a brief, tension-free final showdown that does little to salvage a lackluster narrative. Agent: Ginger Clark, Curtis Brown Literary Agency. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews