Coupon
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir : A Novel
by Jennifer Ryan


Overview - NATIONAL BESTSELLER

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale , The Chilbury Ladies' Choir  unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II


As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond.
  Read more...

 

Download

Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 
 
 

More About The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
 
 
 
Overview
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II


As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.
 
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN: 9781101906767
  • Publisher: Crown/Archetype
  • Imprint: Broadway Books
  • Date: Feb 2017
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Random House, Inc.
 
Customer Reviews