Coupon
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
by Tom Franklin


Overview - A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin -- critically acclaimed author of Smonk and Hell at the Breech -- Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $24.99
  • 10% Off for Members Club Price
    $ 22.49

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 157 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin
 
 
 
Overview
A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin -- critically acclaimed author of Smonk and Hell at the Breech -- Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780060594664
  • ISBN-10: 0060594667
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: October 2010
  • Page Count: 274


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2010-06-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

Franklin's third novel (after Smonk) is a meandering tale of an unlikely friendship marred by crime and racial strain in smalltown Mississippi. Silas Jones and Larry Ott have known each other since their late 1970s childhood when Silas lived with his mother in a cabin on land owned by Larry's father. At school they could barely acknowledge one another, Silas being black and Larry white, but they secretly formed a bond hunting, fishing, and just being boys in the woods. When a girl goes missing after going on a date with Larry, he is permanently marked as dangerous despite the lack of evidence linking him to her disappearance, and the two boys go their separate ways. Twenty-five years later, Silas is the local constable, and when another girl disappears, Larry, an auto mechanic with few customers and fewer friends, is once again a person of interest. The Southern atmosphere is rich, but while this novel has the makings of an engaging crime drama, the languid shifting from present to past, the tedious tangential yarns, and the heavy-handed reveal at the end generate far more fizz than pop. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews