Directions to See a Ghost
by The Black Angels

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Directions to See a Ghost by The Black Angels

Track Listing

1 You On The Run
2 Doves
3 Science Killer
4 Mission District
5 18 Years
6 Deer-Ree-Shee
7 Never/Ever
8 Vikings
9 You In Color
10 Return, The
11 Snake In The Grass

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: May 2008
  • Label: Light in the Attic Records
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Engineer: Erik Wofford
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.84) - "[T]he Black Angels bring the aura of mid-1966 -- the drilling guitars of early Velvet Underground shows, the raga inflections of late-show Fillmore jams, the acid-prayer stomp of Austin avatars the 13th Floor Elevators -- everywhere they go..."

Magnet (p.96) - "[With] organ, fuzz/reverb guitar and sitar-laced dronescapes; hypnotic tribal drums and thicker-than-strata bass; Alex Maas' dramatic, Jim Morrison-esque vocals; and the lysergic ambience of Spacemen 3 and the Velvet Underground."

CMJ - "'Mission District' is a high point; the song really lifts off through acid rain-soaked clouds, emerging into spotty sunshine by the end."

Q (Magazine) (p.98) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[With] 'You In Color' and the 16-minute 'Snake In The Grass' conjuring an air of oppressive menace....It makes for an impressive sound..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.113) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith the psychedelia stripped to its bare, blackened bones, as cavernous and gothic as -- oh yes -- a sonic cathedral."

Clash (Magazine) (p.123) - "It's uncompromisingly ambient; from the bath of sultry noise to the Velvet Underground-esque excessiveness of opening track 'You On The Run'."

Customer Reviews