Coupon
Dani's Story : A Journey from Neglect to Love
by Diane Lierow and Bernie Lierow and Kay West


Overview - The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents

In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $24.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Dani's Story by Diane Lierow; Bernie Lierow; Kay West
 
 
 
Overview
The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents

In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani?and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, ""I pretty.""Dani's story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg TimesThe Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother everFor readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani's Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780470591338
  • ISBN-10: 0470591331
  • Publisher: Wiley (TP)
  • Publish Date: June 2011
  • Page Count: 266


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs

 
BAM Customer Reviews