Coupon
The Daughter
by Jane Shemilt


Overview -

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Ruth Rendell, this compelling and clever psychological thriller spins the harrowing tale of a mother's obsessive search for her missing daughter.

Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 136 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Daughter by Jane Shemilt
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Ruth Rendell, this compelling and clever psychological thriller spins the harrowing tale of a mother's obsessive search for her missing daughter.

Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.

But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn't come home after her school play, Jenny's seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and her family is broken.

As the months pass, the worst-case scenarios--kidnapping, murder--seem less plausible. The trail has gone cold. Yet for a desperate Jenny, the search has barely begun. More than a year after her daughter's disappearance, she's still digging for answers--and what she finds disturbs her. Everyone she's trusted, everyone she thought she knew, has been keeping secrets, especially Naomi. Piecing together the traces her daughter left behind, Jenny discovers a very different Naomi from the girl she thought she'd raised.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062320476
  • ISBN-10: 0062320475
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - General
Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-02-16
  • Reviewer: Staff

British author Shemilt’s sensitive if sometimes painful first novel focuses on the disintegration of the Malcolm family of Bristol, England, in the wake of a tragedy: husband Ted, a neurosurgeon; wife Jenny, a family doctor and amateur painter; their 17-year-old twins, Ed and Theo; and their 15-year-old daughter, Naomi. Naomi lands the plum role of Maria in her school’s production of West Side Story, but after a performance she disappears without a trace. A year later, Jenny is living alone in Dorset, having discovered that everything she thought about her family was incomplete or wrong. Jenny is a strong and believable character, and the blinkers that keep her from seeing her husband and children clearly grow as insidiously as cataracts. The secrets hidden from Jenny are common ones, but her absorption in her work, her art, and the daily routines of family life keeps her from seeing the problems. Not all the characters are as well drawn as Jenny, and Naomi remains too much of a mystery, but Jenny’s journey is a memorable one. Agent: Eve White, Eve White Literary Agency (U.K.). (Mar.) Jaded Varina Denman. David C. Cook, $14.99 trade paper (336p) ISBN 978-1-4347-0837-3 In this capable debut novel, home educator and Bible study teacher Denman offers a glimpse into the complexities of life and romance in a tightly knit west Texas town. Years after the Turner family is caught in a scandal and ostracized, Ruthie Turner develops a romantic interest in Dodd Cunningham, the new local minister, setting the stage for the revelation of a string of secrets. Trapp, Tex., is no bucolic escape: it’s characterized by closed-mindedness, grudges, secrets, and distrust of outsiders. Denman refreshes an oft-told tale by adding variations to familiar character types. The cast is large, but the characters are well developed, making it easier for readers to follow their interactions. Although ostensibly a romance between Ruthie and Dodd, Denman’s novel is ambitious and multilayered, reading more like women’s fiction as it focuses on the issues of shame and forgiveness. Ruthie and Dodd alternate narration, which can be jarring at times. Denman offers an engaging tale of forgiveness and acceptance with memorable characters, and to her credit, she avoids a predictable ending. Agent: Jessica Kirkland, Blythe Daniel Agency. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews