Coupon
A Daughter's Courage : An Utterly Heartbreaking Novel of Family Secrets, Tragedy and Love
by Renita D'Silva


Overview -

How much would you sacrifice to save your family?


1929. When a passionate love affair threatens to leave Lucy in disgrace, she chooses a respectable marriage over a life of shame. With her husband, coffee plantation owner James, she travels to her new home in India, leaving her troubled past behind her.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 7 copies from $15.49
 
 
 

More About A Daughter's Courage by Renita D'Silva
 
 
 
Overview

How much would you sacrifice to save your family?


1929. When a passionate love affair threatens to leave Lucy in disgrace, she chooses a respectable marriage over a life of shame. With her husband, coffee plantation owner James, she travels to her new home in India, leaving her troubled past behind her.

Everything in India is new to Lucy, from the jewel-coloured fabrics to the exotic spices. When her path crosses that of Gowri, a young woman who tends the temple on the plantation's edge, Lucy is curious to find out more about her, and the events that lead her to live in isolation from her family...

Now. With her career in shatters and her heart broken by the man she thought was her future, Kayva flees from bustling Mumbai to her hometown. A crumbling temple has been discovered in a village nearby, and with it letters detailing its tragic history - desperate pleas from a young woman called Gowri.

As Kavya learns of Gowri and Lucy's painful story, she begins to understand the terrible sacrifices that were made and the decision the two women took that changed their lives forever. Can the secrets of the past help Kavya to rebuild her life?

A breath-taking journey through the rolling hills of India, deep into the secrets hidden within a family. For fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Victoria Hislop.

Read what everyone is saying about A Daughter's Courage:


'Every now and again a book comes along that I can't stop thinking about long after I've turned the last page. A Daughter's Courage was one of those books... An absolutely beautiful story... She made 447 pages feel more like 200, that's how fast I finished it... I really can't say anything that will adequately describe how much I enjoyed this book so I will just say that I highly recommend it... I loved every minute of it.' 5* Twin Spin

'I have loved every single novel by Renita I have had the opportunity to read and this was no exception. She weaves a magical tale of another world and culture which is as fascinating as it is moving... Unforgettable reading.' Consumer reviewer

'A story that will keep resonating in my head and heart for a long time... It swept me away in a world full of hurt and pain, courage, strength and love. It showed a world full of colour and darkness, choices and lack of them, a world of extremes... I cannot do anything but have praise for this book.' 5* Eccentric Lady

'This novel bursts with rich, sensual descriptions of southern India... All the women are fully rounded characters with well-developed personal histories, and the narrative skips briskly along as it ensnares readers in a story designed to keep them up far too late.' 4* Reading the Past; Historical Novel Society



This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781786811783
  • ISBN-10: 1786811782
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: May 2017
  • Page Count: 444
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Sagas
Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews