Coupon
The Dead Inside : A True Story
by Cyndy Etler


Overview -

For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak , Cyndy Etler's gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious "tough love" program the ACLU called "a concentration camp for throwaway kids."

I never was a badass.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $10.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PRE-ORDER NOW:
This item will ship on March 1, 2018. If you order this item now, it will not delay the rest of your order.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
eBook
Retail Price: $17.99
$11.84

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    The Dead Inside (Hardcover)
    Published: 2017-04-04
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
    $13.31
     
     
 
 

More About The Dead Inside by Cyndy Etler
 
 
 
Overview

For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler's gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious "tough love" program the ACLU called "a concentration camp for throwaway kids."

I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was. I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi's jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight.

From the outside, Straight Inc. was a drug rehab. But on the inside it was...well, it was something else.

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her abusive home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a "drug rehabilitation" facility that changed her world.

To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to "treat" its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered "healing."


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781492652793
  • ISBN-10: 1492652792
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
  • Publish Date: March 2018
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17


Related Categories

Books > > Social Topics - Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
Books > > Drama
Books > > Social Topics - Depression & Mental Illness

 
BAM Customer Reviews