Coupon
Devotion - Autographed Copy
by Adam Makos


Overview - For readers of "Unbroken" comes an unforgettable tale of courage from America s forgotten war in Korea, by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Higher Call. "
""
"Devotion" tells the inspirational story of the U.S. Navy s most famous aviator duo, Lieutenant Tom Hudner and Ensign Jesse Brown, and the Marines they fought to defend.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $28.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 22.40
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About Devotion - Autographed Copy by Adam Makos
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of "Unbroken" comes an unforgettable tale of courage from America s forgotten war in Korea, by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Higher Call. "
""
"Devotion" tells the inspirational story of the U.S. Navy s most famous aviator duo, Lieutenant Tom Hudner and Ensign Jesse Brown, and the Marines they fought to defend. A white New Englander from the country-club scene, Tom passed up Harvard to fly fighters for his country. An African American sharecropper s son from Mississippi, Jesse became the navy s first black carrier pilot, defending a nation that wouldn t even serve him in a bar.
While much of America remained divided by segregation, Jesse and Tom joined forces as wingmen in Fighter Squadron 32. Adam Makos takes us into the cockpit as these bold young aviators cut their teeth at the world s most dangerous job landing on the deck of an aircraft carrier a line of work that Jesse s young wife, Daisy, struggles to accept.
Deployed to the Mediterranean, Tom and Jesse meet the Fleet Marines, boys like PFC Red Parkinson, a farm kid from the Catskills. In between war games in the sun, the young men revel on the Riviera, partying with millionaires and even befriending the Hollywood starlet Elizabeth Taylor. Then comes the war no one expected, in faraway Korea.
"Devotion"takes us soaring overhead with Tom and Jesse, and into the foxholes with Red and the Marines as they battle a North Korean invasion. As the fury of the fighting escalates and the Marines are cornered at the Chosin Reservoir, Tom and Jesse fly, guns blazing, to try and save them. When one of the duo is shot down behind enemy lines and pinned in his burning plane, the other faces an unthinkable choice: watch his friend die or attempt history s most audacious one-man rescue mission.
A tug-at-the-heartstrings tale of bravery and selflessness, "Devotion" asks: How far would you go to save a friend?
Advance praise for "Devotion"
My great respect for Tom Hudner knows no bounds. He is a true hero; and in reading this book, you will understand why I feel that way. President George H. W. Bush
This is aerial drama at its best fast, powerful, and moving. Erik Larson, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Dead Wake"
Lovingly rendered and meticulously researched, here is a tale of true friendship across the racial divide. Though it concerns a famously cold battle in the Korean War, make no mistake: "Devotion"will warm your heart. Hampton Sides, "New York Times" bestselling author of"Ghost Soldiers"and"In the Kingdom of Ice"
At last, the Korean War has its epic, a story that will stay with you long after you close this book. Eric Blehm, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Fearless" and "Legend""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781492481034
  • ISBN-10: 1492481033
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: October 2015


Related Categories

 
BAM Customer Reviews