Coupon
Devotion : An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice
by Adam Makos and Dominic Hoffman


Overview - For readers of "Unbroken" comes an unforgettable tale of courage from America s forgotten war in Korea, by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Higher Call. "
"Devotion" tells the inspirational story of the U.S. Navy s most famous aviator duo, Lieutenant Tom Hudner and Ensign Jesse Brown, and the Marines they fought to defend.
  Read more...

 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • $45.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 40.50

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Devotion by Adam Makos; Dominic Hoffman
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of "Unbroken" comes an unforgettable tale of courage from America s forgotten war in Korea, by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Higher Call. "
"Devotion" tells the inspirational story of the U.S. Navy s most famous aviator duo, Lieutenant Tom Hudner and Ensign Jesse Brown, and the Marines they fought to defend. A white New Englander from the country-club scene, Tom passed up Harvard to fly fighters for his country. An African American sharecropper s son from Mississippi, Jesse became the navy s first black carrier pilot, defending a nation that wouldn t even serve him in a bar.
While much of America remained divided by segregation, Jesse and Tom joined forces as wingmen in Fighter Squadron 32. Adam Makos takes us into the cockpit as these bold young aviators cut their teeth at the world s most dangerous job landing on the deck of an aircraft carrier a line of work that Jesse s young wife, Daisy, struggles to accept.
Deployed to the Mediterranean, Tom and Jesse meet the Fleet Marines, boys like PFC Red Parkinson, a farm kid from the Catskills. In between war games in the sun, the young men revel on the Riviera, partying with millionaires and even befriending the Hollywood starlet Elizabeth Taylor. Then comes the war no one expected, in faraway Korea.
"Devotion"takes us soaring overhead with Tom and Jesse, and into the foxholes with Red and the Marines as they battle a North Korean invasion. As the fury of the fighting escalates and the Marines are cornered at the Chosin Reservoir, Tom and Jesse fly, guns blazing, to try and save them. When one of the duo is shot down behind enemy lines and pinned in his burning plane, the other faces an unthinkable choice: watch his friend die or attempt history s most audacious one-man rescue mission.
A tug-at-the-heartstrings tale of bravery and selflessness, "Devotion" asks: How far would you go to save a friend?
Praise for "Devotion
"
Riveting . . . a meticulously researched and moving account. "USA Today"
An inspiring tale . . . portrayed by Makos in sharp, fact-filled prose and with strong reporting. "Los Angeles Times"
A] must-read. "New York Post"
Stirring. "Parade"
A masterful storyteller . . . Makos brings] "Devotion" to life with amazing vividness. . . . It] reads like a dream. The perfectly paced story cruises along in the fast lane when you re finished, you ll want to start all over again. Associated Press
A delight to read . . . "Devotion" is a story you will not forget. "The Washington Times"
My great respect for Tom Hudner knows no bounds. He is a true hero; and in reading this book, you will understand why I feel that way. President George H. W. Bush
This is aerial drama at its best fast, powerful, and moving. Erik Larson, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Dead Wake"
Though it concerns a famously cold battle in the Korean War, make no mistake: "Devotion" will warm your heart. Hampton Sides, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Ghost Soldiers" and "In the Kingdom of Ice"
At last, the Korean War has its epic, a story that will stay with you long after you close this book. Eric Blehm, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Fearless" and "Legend"

"From the Hardcover edition.""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553398410
  • ISBN-10: 0553398415
  • Publisher: Random House Audio Publishing Group
  • Publish Date: October 2015


Related Categories

Books > History > Military - Korean War
Books > History > Military - Aviation
Books > History > Military - United States

 
BAM Customer Reviews