Coupon
Dig, Dogs, Dig : A Construction Tail
by James Horvath


Overview -

A crew of dogs working on a construction site make for a delightful picture book written and illustrated in full-color by James Horvath.

In Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail , Duke heads up a pack of construction worker dogs as they suit up in boots, gloves, goggles and dirt-digging suits to build a park The dogs get to use all kinds of cool equipment--a crane, a dump truck, a loader, a bulldozer, and a cement truck.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $15.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About Dig, Dogs, Dig by James Horvath
 
 
 
Overview

A crew of dogs working on a construction site make for a delightful picture book written and illustrated in full-color by James Horvath.

In Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail, Duke heads up a pack of construction worker dogs as they suit up in boots, gloves, goggles and dirt-digging suits to build a park The dogs get to use all kinds of cool equipment--a crane, a dump truck, a loader, a bulldozer, and a cement truck. Most fun of all they get to dig. Like all dogs, they love digging.

Work is interrupted when the dogs find something deep at the bottom of a hole. Children will love discovering what is buried in the ground.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062189646
  • ISBN-10: 0062189646
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: April 2013
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-8
  • Dimensions: 10.1 x 9.3 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Transportation - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Dogs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-04-08
  • Reviewer: Staff

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Con-struction Site will eagerly dig into illustrator/designer Horvath’s vehicle-centric debut, first in a planned series. Early one morning, the dozen or so canine workers hit the ground running, driving a fleet of big machines to an urban construction site. Horvath’s punchy verse both describes the vehicles (“The loader picks up/ a rocky big bite/ and moves out the rubble/ with all its might”) and spurs on the laborers (“There’s trouble in the pit,/ We’ve hit something big./ Get down in the hole and dig, dogs, dig!”). The high points of the story are the unexpected excavation of a giant T. rex bone and the revelation of the finished project: an inviting park whose centerpiece is a display of the prehistoric fossil. Buzzing with activity, Horvath’s crisp, cartoon-styled digital art includes numerous details to pore over (including the delivery of a truckload of ducks for the park’s pond and a cat that darts mischievously around the worksite), giving the book a light comedic punch. Ages 4–8. Agent: Brenda Bowen, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews