(0)
 
Discretion
by Allison Leotta

Overview - For fans of Lisa Scottoline and "Law and Order: SVU," former federal sex-crimes prosecutor Allison Leotta's novel explores the intersection of sex and power as Anna Curtis investigates the murder of one of DC's highest-paid escorts.
When a beautiful young woman plummets to her death from the balcony of the U.S.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $25.00
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Usually ships in 2-4 weeks.

FREE Express Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 50 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Discretion by Allison Leotta
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Lisa Scottoline and "Law and Order: SVU," former federal sex-crimes prosecutor Allison Leotta's novel explores the intersection of sex and power as Anna Curtis investigates the murder of one of DC's highest-paid escorts.
When a beautiful young woman plummets to her death from the balcony of the U.S. Capitol, Assistant U.S. Attorney Anna Curtis is summoned to the scene. The evidence points to a sexual assault and murder. The victim is one of the city's highest-paid escorts. And the balcony belongs to Washington, D.C.'s sole representative to Congress, the most powerful figure in city politics.
The Congressman proclaims his innocence, but he's in the middle of a tough primary fight, and the scandal could cost him the election. For Anna, the high-profile case is an opportunity. But as the political stakes rise, she realizes that a single mistake could end her career.
At the same time, her budding romance with Jack Bailey, the chief homicide prosecutor, is at a crossroads. Determined to gain respect in the office, Anna wants to keep their relationship under wraps. But the mounting pressure and media attention that come with the office's most important case will inevitably expose their relationship--if it doesn't destroy it first.
The investigation leads Anna to Discretion, a high-end escort service that caters to D.C.'s elite. But with each break in the case, the mystery deepens. And the further Anna ventures into D.C.'s red-light underworld, the larger the target on her own back.
From the secret social clubs where Washington's most powerful men escape from public view to the asphalt "track" where the city's most vulnerable women work the streets, Discretion is a gripping exploration of sex, power, and the secrets we all keep.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781451644845
  • ISBN-10: 1451644841
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: July 2012
  • Page Count: 325


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-05-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

Leotta’s second legal thriller featuring D.C. sex crimes prosecutor Anna Curtis (after 2010’s Law of Attraction) adds nothing new to the murder and sex among the Washington elite subgenre popularized by writers like David Baldacci. When escort Caroline McBride plunges to her death from the third-floor balcony of longtime District representative Emmett Lionel’s Capitol office, Anna investigates. By creating a covert account on TrickAdviser.com, an escort resource Web site, Anna learns that the victim was “the most expensive call girl in D.C.” The high-profile case threatens to expose Anna’s discreet relationship with her office’s head of homicide, widower Jack Bailey. To complicate matters, Lionel invokes the obscure Speech and Debate Clause to limit searching of his office, while his legal and political advisers throw up further obstacles. Anna’s efforts to win over Jack’s hostile six-year-old daughter lend human interest. Those who can’t get enough of Washington scandal in their fiction will be most rewarded. Agent: Amy Berkower, Writers House. (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION