Coupon
The Distance to Home
by Jenn Bishop


Overview - For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game.
Last summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 15.29

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Distance to Home by Jenn Bishop
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game.
Last summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers. They were headed for the championship, and her loudest supporter at every game was her best friend and older sister, Haley.
This summer, everything is different. Haley s death, at the end of last summer, has left Quinnen and her parents reeling. Without Haley in the stands, Quinnen doesn t want to play baseball. It seems like nothing can fill the Haley-sized hole in her world. The one glimmer of happiness comes from the Bandits, the local minor-league baseball team. For the first time, Quinnen and her family are hosting one of the players for the season. Without Haley, Quinnen s not sure it will be any fun, but soon she befriends a few players. With their help, can she make peace with the past and return to the pitcher s mound?
"Recommend this poignant novel to fans of "Keeping Score" by Linda Sue Park and "The Thing About Jellyfish" by Ali Benjamin."--"School Library Journal
""A piercing first novel...Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope.""--Publishers Weekly
""With appeal to both sports- and drama-minded girls, this will make a good book club selection and pass-it-among-your-friends read.""--The Bulletin
""The life-and-death themes are thought-provoking, but readers may love the book even more for its many digressions.""--Kirkus""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781101938713
  • ISBN-10: 1101938714
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Sports & Recreation - Baseball
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Death & Dying

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-04-18
  • Reviewer: Staff

In a piercing first novel, Bishop introduces a family grappling with devastating loss. Jumping between two consecutive summers in the present day, the story opens as baseball-loving 11-year-old Quinnen Donnelly and her parents are grieving, separately and silently, the death of Quinnen’s popular older sister, Haley, nine months earlier. Withholding the details surrounding the tragedy until late in the story, Bishop focuses on its wrenching effects on Quinnen (“It feels like there’s this new hole inside of me, and no matter what I do, no matter what anybody says, it’ll never be filled”). The talented pitcher quits the baseball team but is buoyed by an unexpected friendship with Hector Padilla, a pitcher from the Dominican Republic who is playing for the minor league team in Quinnen’s Midwestern town. In another emotionally intense plot thread, she struggles to make peace with Haley’s boyfriend, Zack, whom Quinnen blames for creating distance and tension between her and her sister during their last months together. Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope. Ages 8–12. Agent: Katie Grimm, Don Congdon Associates. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews