(16)
 
Divergent
by Veronica Roth

Overview - In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $11.82
    (Save 34%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $6.56
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Divergent by Veronica Roth
 
 
 
Overview
In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.

Books-A-Million Associate Lindsay M. Review: I loved this book and I could not put it down. If you liked The Hunger Games trilogy then you will love this!

Books-A-Million Associate Angela C. Review: The book really tugs at the heart strings. I depicts a world completely different from our own, but has the ability to cature the feelings of teenage angst that we all can relate to. From the doubt and confusion she feels in the beginning of the book, to the pain she feels as she explores her own depths and finds her own voice. This book is a great read for someone who wants a real thought provoker.

Books-A-Million Associate Kristina K. Review: Very good book! Had a hard time putting it down! Great read for fans of Ally Condie's "Matched" and Lauren Oliver's "Delirium".

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062024022
  • ISBN-10: 0062024027
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Publish Date: May 2011
  • Page Count: 487
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP

Series: Divergent Trilogy #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Dystopian
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Science Fiction
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-02-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this edgy debut (definitely not for the fainthearted), first in a trilogy, promising author Roth tells the riveting and complex story of a teenage girl forced to choose, at age 16, between her routinized, selfless family and the adventurous, unrestrained future she longs for. Beatrice "Tris" Prior lives in crumbling dystopian Chicago, where citizens are divided into five factions—Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite—depending on their beliefs, passions, and loyalties. When Tris forsakes her Abnegation family to become one of the wild, fearless Dauntless, she must confront her deepest fears, learn to trust her fellow initiates, and guard the ominous secret that she is actually a Divergent, with the strengths of multiple factions, and is therefore a target of dangerously controlling leaders. Roth's descriptions of Tris's initiation process are as spellbinding as they are violent, while the tremulous romance between Tris and her protective and demanding instructor, Four, unfurls with heart-stopping tenderness. For those who loved The Hunger Games and are willing to brave the sometimes sadistic tests of strength and courage Tris must endure, the reward is a memorable, unpredictable journey from which it is nearly impossible to turn away. Ages 14–up. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION