Coupon
Dollbaby
by Laura Lane Mcneal


Overview - A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets
When Ibby Bell s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father s urn for good measure.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Dollbaby by Laura Lane Mcneal
 
 
 
Overview
A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets
When Ibby Bell s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father s urn for good measure. Fannie s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.
For Fannie s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.
For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.
By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143127499
  • ISBN-10: 0143127497
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: June 2015
  • Page Count: 352


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Family Life
Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews