Coupon
Don't Try to Find Me
by Holly Brown


Overview -

When a fourteen-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her--launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $25.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 46 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

Products
More About Don't Try to Find Me by Holly Brown
 
 
 
Overview

When a fourteen-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her--launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.

Don't try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley's hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have "limited resources." If they want their fourteen-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches FindMarley.com.

But Marley isn't the only one with secrets.

With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It's not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it's discovered that she's lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley's disappearance.

Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062305848
  • ISBN-10: 0062305840
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: July 2014
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 9.26 x 6.39 x 1.17 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.14 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Family Life

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-05-26
  • Reviewer: Staff

At the start of Brown’s plodding debut, 14-year-old Marley Willits walks out of her parents’ Northern California house. Marley’s mother, Rachel, has no idea why her seemingly happy daughter would do such a thing. She and her no-nonsense husband, Paul, turn to the Internet to find Marley when local police fail to provide assistance to track down yet another runaway. Paul, who’s as cold and calculating as Rachel is histrionic and emotional, sets up FindMarley.com, and uses social networking sites to put the word out about their missing teenager. Brown negates most of the suspense by narrating portions of the novel in Marley’s voice—she’s left home very much on her own accord—and by making her current plight far more predictable than nail biting, casting a run-of-the-mill Facebook predator as the boogie man, whose identity is revealed far too soon. Instead of wondering about Marley’s safety, the reader is left pondering whether everyone is actually better off away from each other. Agent: Elisabeth Weed, Weed Literary Agency. (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews