Coupon
I Don't Want to Be a Frog
by Dev Petty and Mike Boldt


Overview -

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father Perfect for fans of Mo Willems's Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and Jon Klassen's I Want My Hat Back

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $11.50
    (Save 32%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 27 copies from $4.34
 
 
 
 

More About I Don't Want to Be a Frog by Dev Petty; Mike Boldt
 
 
 
Overview

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father Perfect for fans of Mo Willems's Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and Jon Klassen's I Want My Hat Back

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives--a wolf who HATES eating frogs--our hero decides that being himself isn't so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog's desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequel - I Don't Want to Be Big - available now

* "First-time author Petty's dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one's nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers--or it might just make them giggle."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."--Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."--School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."--Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."--Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction--for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."--Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385378666
  • ISBN-10: 0385378661
  • Publisher: Doubleday Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: February 2015
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-7
  • Dimensions: 10.1 x 10.2 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Frogs & Toads
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-11-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. Boldt (Colors Versus Shapes) draws the two with exaggerated stringiness: the son is all rubber lips and sticky toes, his bespectacled father working as straight man. The young frog would rather be a cat, or perhaps a rabbit. “You can’t be a Rabbit,” says his beleaguered father. “Why not? Look, I can hop!” “Sure, but where are your long ears?” The small frog looks up, purses his lips, and feels around his head—nothing! “Besides,” his father adds, “what’s wrong with being a Frog?” “It’s too slimy,” the young frog replies. He wants to be a pig, then an owl, until a wolf appears—one who loves to eat cats, rabbits, pigs, and owls, but considers frogs “too wet and slimy and full of Bugs.” Now the frog sees his existence in a delightful new light. The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle. Ages 3–7. Illustrator’s agent: Jennifer Rofé, Andrea Brown Literary Agency. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews