Coupon
The Dragons of Expectation : Reality and Delusion in Course of History
by Robert Conquest


Overview - The publication of "The Dragons of Expectation" in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's "The Crooked Timber of Humanity" and George Orwell's "Essays," this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to corrupt modern minds; to often disastrous effects.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $15.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 11 copies from $3.26
 
 
 

More About The Dragons of Expectation by Robert Conquest
 
 
 
Overview
The publication of "The Dragons of Expectation" in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's "The Crooked Timber of Humanity" and George Orwell's "Essays," this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to corrupt modern minds; to often disastrous effects. In what "Publishers Weekly" called "a frontal assault on the pieties of the left," Conquest masterfully examines how false nostrums have infected academia, politicians, and the public, showing how their reliance on "isms" and the destructive concepts of "People, Nation, and Masses" have resulted in a ruinous cycle of turbulence and war. Including fresh analyses of Russia's October Revolution, World War II, and the Cold War, "The Dragons of Expectation" is one of the most important contributions to modern thought in recent years.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780393327595
  • ISBN-10: 0393327590
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
  • Publish Date: February 2006
  • Page Count: 256
  • Dimensions: 8.26 x 5.56 x 0.66 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.55 pounds


Related Categories

Books > History > World - General
Books > History > Social History

 
BAM Customer Reviews