Coupon
Dreadnought
by April Daniels


Overview - An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick .
"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky
Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world's greatest superhero.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $14.99
  • $11.54
    (Save 23%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 9.23

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About Dreadnought by April Daniels
 
 
 
Overview
An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.
"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky
Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world's greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she's transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny's body into what she's always thought it should be. Now there's no hiding that she's a girl.
It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny's first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father's dangerous obsession with "curing" her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he's entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she's in over her head.
She doesn't have time to adjust. Dreadnought's murderer--a cyborg named Utopia--still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can't sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781682300688
  • ISBN-10: 1682300684
  • Publisher: Diversion Publishing
  • Publish Date: January 2017
  • Page Count: 280
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds

Series: Nemesis #1

Related Categories

Books > > Superheroes
Books > > LGBT
Books > > Action & Adventure - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-12-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

A transgender teenager is transformed into her ideal self after being imbued with the powers of the worlds greatest superhero in this thought-provoking first book in the Nemesis series. As the latest iteration of Dreadnought, 15-year-old Danielle is expected to train with the local team, the Legion Pacifica, until shes ready to become a full-fledged hero. Unfortunately, her parents would rather cure her and turn her back into Danny, and her reception among the other heroes is mixed at best. Danielle teams up with vigilante heroine Calamity to track down the previous Dreadnoughts murderer, only to stumble upon a plan to destroy the human race. In an impressive debut, Daniels skillfully conveys Danielles pain, confusion, and emotional complexity as she faces a host of detractors and conflicts. While Danielles supernatural transformation comes off as an easy solution compared to journeys of real-world trans teenagers, the novels comic-book trappings allow for a fascinating exploration of gender identity in a fantastical setting. Danielles evolution from confused teen to confident hero is entertaining and inspiring. Ages 12up. Agent: Saritza Hernandez, Corvisiero Agency. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews