Coupon
Dumplin'
by Julie Murphy


Overview -

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine Dumplin is guaranteed to steal your heart.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $10.79
    (Save 40%)
  • 10% Off for Members Club Price
    $ 9.71

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Dumplin' by Julie Murphy
 
 
 
Overview

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine Dumplin is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed Dumplin by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . untilWill takes a job at Harpy s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But sheissurprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself.So she sets out to take back her confidence by doingthe most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant along with several other unlikely candidates to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she ll shock the hell out of Clover City and maybe herself most of all."
From our buyer, Sandra Wilson: Willowdean Dickson, better known as Dumplin, has always been confident in her own skin. She has a best friend, a former beauty queen mother, and a summer job at the local fast food joint in a small West Texas town. She is good in her skin, until she meets former private school jock, Bo. Willowdean likes Bo and to her surprise he likes her too. This sets Willowdean into a tail-spin and to gain her confidence back, she enters the Miss Clover City pageant in her small Texas home town. The pageant and Dumplin will never be the same! Dumplin is a funny Southern story (set with a Dolly Parton soundtrack) that will make us all think about what is like to be true to one's self.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062327185
  • ISBN-10: 0062327186
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: September 2015
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Dating & Relationships
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-06-01
  • Reviewer: Staff

About the only thing Clover City has going for it is its beauty pageant, the oldest in Texas. It’s run by Willowdean Dickson’s mother—a former winner—who has a hard time with the reality that Willowdean, a self-described “fat girl,” will never be a beauty queen. Willowdean is okay with her size, mostly, but with 10th grade ending and her best friend considering having sex with her boyfriend, Willowdean feels like she is being left on the wrong side of the experience divide. An unexpected kiss with Bo, her handsome fast-food restaurant coworker, is thrilling, but she’s also horrified at the idea of him touching her anywhere there is extra flesh. And that very reaction horrifies her, too; she thought she was at peace with herself. Murphy (Side Effects May Vary) successfully makes every piece of the story—Dolly Parton superfans, first love, best-friend problems, an unlikely group of pageant entrants, female solidarity, self-acceptance, and Willowdean’s complicated relationship with the mother who nicknamed her “Dumplin’ ”—count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole. Ages 13–up. Agent: Molly Jaffa, Folio Literary Management. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews