Coupon
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes : Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon
by Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger


Overview - To the editors' great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes's adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $24.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 24 copies from $6.08
 
 
 
 

More About Echoes of Sherlock Holmes by Laurie R. King; Leslie S. Klinger
 
 
 
Overview
To the editors' great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes's adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories--however some do fit that mold--instead these writers were asked to be inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as readers new to Doyle's writing--indeed, for all readers who love exceptional storytelling.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781681772257
  • ISBN-10: 1681772256
  • Publisher: Pegasus Books
  • Publish Date: October 2016
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.3 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Collections & Anthologies
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Traditional

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-08-15
  • Reviewer: Staff

King and Klinger’s strong third Sherlockian anthology (after 2014’s In the Company of Sherlock Holmes) features 17 stories from leading authors who draw on Conan Doyle’s work for inspiration. The end result is a rich variety of entries, including Tony Lee and Bevis Musson’s “Mrs. Hudson Investigates,” a post-Reichenbach mystery in comic book format. David Morrell sensitively examines Conan Doyle’s obsession with spiritualism in “The Spiritualist,” in which the writer has an unexpected encounter in London’s Psychic Book Shop, Library and Museum. John Connolly displays his gift for subtle satire in “Holmes on the Range,” set in his Caxton Private Lending Library and Book Depository, a home for fictional characters who have “assumed an objective reality” (including Holmes and Watson). Another high point is William Kent Krueger’s “The Painted Smile,” in which a therapist treats a child determined to have his identification with Holmes taken seriously. Other contributors include Anne Perry, Hallie Ephron, and Gary Phillips. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews