Coupon
The Eloquence of the Dead
by Conor Brady


Overview -

"Bodies can tell you a lot. There can be an eloquence about the dead. But you have to be able to interpret what they are telling you... "

This captivating, expertly crafted mystery captures the life and essence of Victorian Dublin and draws the reader on a gripping journey of murder and intrigue.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $26.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Eloquence of the Dead by Conor Brady
 
 
 
Overview

"Bodies can tell you a lot. There can be an eloquence about the dead. But you have to be able to interpret what they are telling you... "

This captivating, expertly crafted mystery captures the life and essence of Victorian Dublin and draws the reader on a gripping journey of murder and intrigue. When a Dublin Pawnbroker is found murdered and the lead suspect goes missing, Sergeant Joe Swallow is handed the poisoned chalice of the investigation. On the way he uncovers deep-rooted corruption, discovers the power of new, scientific detection techniques and encounters a ruthless adversary. With authorities pressing for a quick resolution, the public living in fear of attack and the newspapers happy to point to the police's every mistake, Swallow must use every trick in his arsenal to crack the case. Following leads from Trim Castle to the Tower of London, "The Eloquence of the Dead" is a taut, fast-paced crime thriller perfect for fans of Charles Finch and Charles Todd.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250057570
  • ISBN-10: 1250057574
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Publish Date: March 2016
  • Page Count: 384
  • Dimensions: 9.4 x 6.1 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Historical

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-02-01
  • Reviewer: Staff

In Brady’s stellar second whodunit set in Victorian Dublin (after 2015’s A June of Ordinary Murders), the police have reason to think something’s amiss at the home of pawnbroker Ambrose Pollock after a constable sees his sister, Phoebe, returning drunk to the Pollock residence late one night. The next morning, the police break into Ambrose’s ground-floor shop, where they find him sitting in his customary chair with his head beaten in. There’s no sign of Phoebe, who becomes the chief suspect in her brother’s murder. Det. Sgt. Joe Swallow, who has a track record of cracking tough cases (but without getting the promotions his successes merit), investigates. Meanwhile, Lady Margaret Gessel is forced to sell her estate under a new law designed to pacify the Irish by making the less-well-off property owners. Lady Margaret’s plight is clearly somehow connected to the violence, but Brady delays the reveal for maximum impact. The astute Swallow is a particularly well-rounded lead, and he’s matched with a complex, but logical, page-turner of a plot. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews