Coupon
Emancipated
by M. G. Reyes


Overview -

Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant raves is "an amazing new talent "

Six gorgeous teens, all legally emancipated from parental control, move into their dream house on LA's infamous Venice Beach only to discover their perfect setup may be too good to be true.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 13 copies from $9.83
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    Emancipated (Paperback)
    Published: 2016-05-24
    Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
    $9.99
     
     
 
 

More About Emancipated by M. G. Reyes
 
 
 
Overview

Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant raves is "an amazing new talent "

Six gorgeous teens, all legally emancipated from parental control, move into their dream house on LA's infamous Venice Beach only to discover their perfect setup may be too good to be true. The roommates a diva, a jock, a former child star, a hustler, a musician, and a hacker all harbor dark secrets but manage to form a kind of dysfunctional family . . . until one of them is caught in a lie and everyone's freedom is put on the line. How far are they each willing to go to hide the past? And who will they betray to protect their future?

Told from alternating points of view, Emancipated is the first book in a blistering guessing game of a series packed with intrigue, romance, and scandal."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062288950
  • ISBN-10: 0062288954
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Publish Date: May 2015
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP

Series: Emancipated #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Dating & Relationships
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Adolescence
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-03-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

With an omniscient narrative voice that moves among multiple characters, Reyes’s story of six high school students who end up living in a Venice Beach, Calif., house sans adults can read more like a script jumping between scenes than a novel. The teens, all emancipated minors, come to the house with high hopes of freedom, love, and a good time, but they also bring haunted pasts and damaging secrets. The idea of emancipation will probably appeal to a number of readers who wouldn’t mind shedding parental restrictions and input in their own lives, and Reyes (author of the Joshua Files series as M.G. Harris) certainly makes the idea of living on a California beach seem great—until it isn’t. But her characters often seem older than they are, some of their stories are unlikely (a tennis star is emancipated because his family doesn’t want to move him to Mexico with them), and the connections between them can be forced. The ending sets readers up for a sequel, though the languid pace means that getting there takes dedication. Ages 14–up. Agent: Robert Kirby, United Agents. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews