An Ember in the Ashes
by Sabaa Tahir


Overview - Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

Click Here to Read the First Two Chapters!

Laia is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire.
  Read more...

 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 47 copies from $3.52
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
 
 
 
Overview
Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

Click Here to Read the First Two Chapters!

Laia is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire's greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

Elias is the academy's finest soldier-- and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he's ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear. When Laia and Elias's paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.

Watch the Trailor!



Praise for "An Ember In The Ashes"

- “I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn’t convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes, I don’t know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world’s ready for Sabaa Tahir.”—Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of "Legend"

- “A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs . . . ‘An Ember in the Ashes’ is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.”—MTV.com


- “Perfect for fans of Maggie Stievater's The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series…The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!” –TeenVogue.com


- “An Ember in the Ashes could launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory…It has the addictive quality of The Hunger Games combined with the fantasy of Harry Potter and the brutality of Game of Thrones.”— Public Radio International


- “An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.”– Hypable.com

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781595148032
  • ISBN-10: 1595148035
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Publish Date: April 2015
  • Page Count: 464
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.3 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds

Series: Ember in the Ashes #1

Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Fantasy - Epic
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Politics & Government
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Dystopian

 
BAM Customer Reviews