Coupon
The Emperor's Handbook : A New Translation of the Meditations
by Emperor of Rome Marcus Aurelius and C. Scot Hicks and David V. Hicks


Overview - In the tradition of "The Art of Living" and Marcus Aurelius' "Meditations"--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $22.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 19.80

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 29 copies from $8.17
 
 
 

More About The Emperor's Handbook by Emperor of Rome Marcus Aurelius; C. Scot Hicks; David V. Hicks
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of "The Art of Living" and Marcus Aurelius' "Meditations"--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides.
Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as "the most beautiful figure in history." Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest.
The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus's book as "the best ever written by a major ruler," and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it "the essential book on character, leadership, duty." Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides.
"The Emperor's Handbook" offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus's words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780743233835
  • ISBN-10: 0743233832
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company
  • Publish Date: November 2002
  • Page Count: 160


Related Categories

Books > Philosophy > History & Surveys - Ancient & Classical
Books > History > Ancient - Rome
Books > Self-Help > Meditation

 
BAM Customer Reviews