Coupon
Empire of Illusion : The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
by Chris Hedges


Overview - p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 11.0px Calibri} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} Pulitzer prize-winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion above all else.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $14.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 45 copies from $4.02
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Empire of Illusion by Chris Hedges
 
 
 
Overview
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 11.0px Calibri} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} Pulitzer prize-winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion above all else.

We now live in two Americas. One--now the minority--functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other--the majority--is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority--which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected--presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.
In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture-attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies-to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781568586137
  • ISBN-10: 1568586132
  • Publisher: Nation Books
  • Publish Date: October 2010
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.13 x 6.39 x 0.69 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.53 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Social Science > Media Studies
Books > Social Science > Popular Culture - General
Books > Language Arts & Disciplines > Literacy

 
BAM Customer Reviews