Coupon
The English Teacher
by Yiftach Reicher Atir and Philip Simpson


Overview - For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland , a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army
One of The Washington Post's 10Best mystery books and thrillers of 2016

After attending her father s funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 59 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The English Teacher by Yiftach Reicher Atir; Philip Simpson
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army
One ofThe Washington Post's 10Best mystery books and thrillers of 2016

After attending her father s funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent s assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all.
In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143129189
  • ISBN-10: 014312918X
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: August 2016
  • Page Count: 272
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Espionage
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Psychological

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-06-20
  • Reviewer: Staff

Former Israeli intelligence officer Reichter Atir makes his U.S. debut with this absorbing thriller. After Rachel Goldschmitt, a retired Mossad agent living in London, leaves a cryptic phone message with her former handler, known only as Ehud, she disappears. Fearful that Rachael may be unstable and reveal classified information, Mossad assigns Ehud to track her down. What follows is a fascinating look at Rachel’s undercover career in the Arab world as an unassuming English teacher by day, spy by night. Flashbacks chronicle the decade Rachel spent undercover, from her first assassination—an awkward but brutally swift affair in a hotel elevator—to the conflict she faces when she falls in love with an Arab man who knows her only as the sweet English teacher with the British accent. Along the way, readers are treated to all the granular frustrations, mundane indignities, and utter loneliness that can accompany undercover work, details rarely covered in most tales of espionage. Agent: Deborah Harris, Deborah Harris Agency. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews