Coupon
Eve
by Anna Carey


Overview -

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale.

After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 49 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Eve by Anna Carey
 
 
 
Overview

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale.

After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn't until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates.

To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she's ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn't trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

Eve is the first book in Anna Carey's trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062048509
  • ISBN-10: 0062048503
  • Publisher: HarperTorch
  • Publish Date: October 2011
  • Page Count: 322
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.8 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds

Series: Eve Trilogy (Hardcover)

Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Fantasy - Dark Fantasy
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - General
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - General (see also headings under Family)

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-09-19
  • Reviewer: Staff

Dubious gender politics and questionable character choices hinder this dystopian romance from Carey (the Sloane Sisters series). A generation after a plague wiped out 98% of humanity, orphaned girls like Eve are raised in secluded schools, conditioned to fear the outside, distrust men, and look forward to a comfortable life in the City of Sand. When Eve discovers what’s actually intended for her, she flees the school. Teaming up with another refugee classmate, Eve meets Caleb, a teenage boy who alternately attracts and repels her. Together and separately, the three struggle through numerous dangers in the postapocalyptic landscape, while Eve and Caleb fall for one another. First in a trilogy, the book squanders most of its potential on a premise involving repopulation through forced breeding, a “Wendy and the Lost Boys” scenario, and the protagonist’s naïveté and ill-considered actions. With rare exceptions, men are portrayed either as brutes to be feared or feral children in need of a mother figure. Similarly, women who aren’t complicit in maintaining the status quo are all but reduced to broodmares or objects of lust. Ages 12–up. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews