Coupon
The Evil Hours : A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
by David J. Morris


Overview - In the tradition of "The Emperor of All Maladies" and "The Noonday Demon," a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSDJust as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and 90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $27.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $15.50
 
eBook
Retail Price: $14.95
$10.61

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    The Evil Hours (Paperback)
    Published: 2016-01-05
    Publisher: Eamon Dolan/Mariner Books
    $14.95
     
     
 
 

More About The Evil Hours by David J. Morris
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of "The Emperor of All Maladies" and "The Noonday Demon," a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSDJust as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and 90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States global war on terror, PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict s veterans. But the disorder s reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.

Now, David J. Morris a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time. "

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780544086616
  • ISBN-10: 0544086619
  • Publisher: Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Publish Date: January 2015
  • Page Count: 338


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Books > Psychology > Psychopathology - Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Medical - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-11-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

Former marine infantry officer Morris (Storm on the Horizon) blurs the line between clinical and creative literature in a lucid etiology of a “species of pain that went unnamed for most of human history... now the fourth most common psychiatric disorder in the United States.” Morris draws from his own traumatic Iraq War experiences and ancient “historical antecedents” such as the Sumerian Lamentation of Ur and Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey. He moves on to postbellum America, reminding us that many of the Wild West’s most famous gunslingers were Civil War veterans, then to WWI, the “first conflict where war neuroses were officially identified and treated,” and finally the Vietnam War, the “single most important event in the history of psychological trauma.” The book’s second half describes and assesses the various ways in which PTSD is currently treated, using Morris’s own treatment as an example (he found yoga most effective). Morris offers balanced criticisms of the VA, and though he’s focused on American veterans, he attends to “rape, genocide, torture, and natural disaster” as other causes of PTSD in civilians. Well-integrated autobiographical elements make this remarkable work highly instructive and readable. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews