Coupon
The Ex
by Alafair Burke


Overview -

A Boston Globe Best Book of the Year

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train , a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder--but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $26.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 68 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Ex by Alafair Burke
 
 
 
Overview

A Boston Globe Best Book of the Year

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder--but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiance, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide--and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder--there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him--and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062390486
  • ISBN-10: 0062390481
  • Publisher: Harper
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 304
  • Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.3 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Crime
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Legal

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-10-26
  • Reviewer: Staff

Near the start of bestseller Burkes gripping standalone, New York City DA Olivia Randall receives a desperate phone call from the school-age daughter of her ex-fiancé, Jack Harris, whose wife, Molly, was killed in a mass shooting three years earlier at Manhattans Penn Station. Jack has now been implicated in a triple murderone of the victims was partly responsible for Mollys deathand his only defense is his flimsy claim that at the time he had an assignation with a mysterious woman he first saw drinking champagne and reading a book on a Hudson River pier. As Olivia sets out to clear his name, she begins to wonder whether Jack is not the devoted, kind, and decent man she remembers. Internally conflicted but outwardly brash, Olivia makes an appealingly bold protagonist, and while the final twist may disappoint some readers, Burke (If I Were You) keeps the suspense high throughout, prying open mysteries of relationships and perception. Agent: Philip Spitzer, Philip Spitzer Literary Agency. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews