Coupon
The Executioner's Daughter
by Jane Hardstaff


Overview - "A thrilling historical adventure (with Common Core connections) set in the underbelly of the Tower of London and on the Thames in Tudor times. "Perfect for fans of Matthew J. Kirby's "The Clockwork Three" and F.E. Higgins's "The Black Book of Secrets."
"Basket Girl, "
"When you're dead"
"Who will carry"
"All the heads?"
The crowds at the Tower of London love a good execution.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 14 copies from $10.34
 
 
 

More About The Executioner's Daughter by Jane Hardstaff
 
 
 
Overview
"A thrilling historical adventure (with Common Core connections) set in the underbelly of the Tower of London and on the Thames in Tudor times. "Perfect for fans of Matthew J. Kirby's "The Clockwork Three" and F.E. Higgins's "The Black Book of Secrets."
"Basket Girl, "
"When you're dead"
"Who will carry"
"All the heads?"
The crowds at the Tower of London love a good execution. As the basket girl, it's Moss's job to catch the heads that her father chops off. It's a life she longs to leave behind, but she, too, is a prisoner and there's no escaping the Tower walls.
Or is there? A hidden tunnel takes her to the shores of the great River Thames, where she meets Salter, a river rat who teaches her how to survive with her wits, and the occasional theft.
But there's a reason Moss's father insisted she never go near the river--a deal struck long ago--and now payment is due. . . .
Jane Hardstaff's "The Executioner's Daughter" is a thrilling historical adventure with a hint of a ghost story set amid the glamour and grime of Tudor London during the reign of Henry VIII.
Praise for "The Executioner's Daughter"
Longlisted for the 2015 Oxfordshire Book Award
"Hardstaff has a real talent for creating a sense of place and drama . . . and her descriptions of the wretchedness of life on the river and a child's lowly lot are worth locking yourself up for an afternoon's reading pleasure." --"The Times" (London)
"This notable debut mixes vivid history with supernatural adventure, and from its dark depths friendship, forgiveness, and parental love rise to the surface." --"The Sunday Times"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781606845622
  • ISBN-10: 1606845624
  • Publisher: Egmontusa
  • Publish Date: April 2016
  • Page Count: 264
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-13
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Europe
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Horror

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-02-01
  • Reviewer: Staff

Set in England during the reign of Henry VIII, Hardstaff’s debut is a fast-moving and suspenseful adventure starring motherless 11-year-old Moss, who has lived all her life on London’s Tower Hill. Moss’s father’s job is to behead the Tower prisoners; hers is to carry away the severed heads in a basket. Jeered at as “basket girl,” Moss despises beheadings, but her father has always told her they themselves are prisoners whose lives are spared only because he serves as the king’s executioner. When Moss discovers that this is a lie—and that she is living under a curse from the Riverwitch who saved her as a newborn—she runs away, embarking on a hand-to-mouth existence filled with indignities and dangers, often accompanied by a generous young thief, who shares what little he has with Moss. Searching for the place she was conceived and aware that she is living on borrowed time, Moss is a headstrong, emotional, and determined heroine. Hardstaff believably conveys the gritty details of life on the edge in the context of historical events of the era. Ages 9–13. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews