Coupon
Fangbone! Third-Grade Barbarian
by Michael Rex


Overview - As seen on Disney XD, a hilarious graphic novel perfect for fans of Captain Underpants
Eastwood Elementary has a new student, and he's nothing like the other kids in 3G. Fangbone is a barbarian warrior from another world And he's been charged with the task of keeping a deadly weapon from Skullbania's vilest villain, Venomous Drool.
  Read more...

 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 50 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Fangbone! Third-Grade Barbarian by Michael Rex
 
 
 
Overview
As seen on Disney XD, a hilarious graphic novel perfect for fans of Captain Underpants
Eastwood Elementary has a new student, and he's nothing like the other kids in 3G. Fangbone is a barbarian warrior from another world And he's been charged with the task of keeping a deadly weapon from Skullbania's vilest villain, Venomous Drool. Can Fangbone's new classmates team up to help him triumph over hound-snakes, lava-ferrets, and his first pop quiz?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399255212
  • ISBN-10: 0399255214
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: January 2012
  • Page Count: 128
  • Reading Level: Ages 7-9

Series: Fangbone!: Third Grade Barbarian (Paperback)

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Comics & Graphic Novels - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-11-07
  • Reviewer: Staff

Flat, primitive art in yellow and gray brings to mind “what if the Wimpy Kid was instead Conan’s kid?” The book’s not attractive, but it is easy to read and very expressive. It looks like something a classmate might have scribbled on notebook paper and passed around, providing a sense of “I could do this!” The familiar plot sends the young Fangbone, normally picked on by the bigger warriors, on a mystical quest that, if successful, will reward the clan with victory against the enemy army. The young fighter is surprised to find that his mission involves blending in at an elementary school, which leads to much culture-clash humor. It’s cute, funny, and will win over most readers with its commitment to its premise. It’s even heartwarming, as Bill (Fangbone’s friend, previously thought to be a loser) learns confidence, and Fangbone gains an appreciation for teamwork during a dodgeball-like game. The modern touches—such as hot wings and Bill’s ADD medicine—ground the book, while jabs at school philosophy through the character of the goofy principal will entertain adult readers. Ages 7–9. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews