Coupon
Four Queens : The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe
by Nancy Goldstone


Overview - For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser, acclaimed author Nancy Goldstone's thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in ruling--and shaping--thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sisters--Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provence--who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $17.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 82 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Four Queens by Nancy Goldstone
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser, acclaimed author Nancy Goldstone's thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in ruling--and shaping--thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sisters--Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provence--who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe. Each sister in this extraordinary family was beautiful, cultured, and accomplished but what made these women so remarkable was that each became queen of a principal European power--France, England, Germany and Sicily. During their reigns, they exercised considerable political authority, raised armies, intervened diplomatically and helped redraw the map of Europe. Theirs is a drama of courage, sagacity and ambition that re-examines the concept of leadership in the Middle Ages.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143113256
  • ISBN-10: 0143113259
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: February 2008
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.38 x 5.52 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.71 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Royalty
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Women
Books > History > Europe - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews