Coupon
Frazzled : Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom
by Booki Vivat


Overview -

An instant New York Times bestseller, Booki Vivat's Frazzled is the first installment of a funny middle grade graphic novel series about a girl who is always in a tizzy.

" Hilarious. " (NPR's All Things Considered)

" Honest, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $12.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 38 copies from $3.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Frazzled by Booki Vivat
 
 
 
Overview

An instant New York Times bestseller, Booki Vivat's Frazzled is the first installment of a funny middle grade graphic novel series about a girl who is always in a tizzy.

"Hilarious." (NPR's All Things Considered)

"Honest, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny. Fans of Smile and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will appreciate this debut." (Brightly.com)

Meet Abbie Wu. Abbie is in crisis--and not just because she's starting middle school or because she's stuck in a family that doesn't quite get her or because everyone seems to have a Thing except her. Abbie Wu is always in crisis.

From author and professional doodler Booki Vivat, Frazzled dives right into the mind of this hilariously neurotic middle school girl as she tries to figure out who she is and where she belongs. Akin to Smile by Raina Telgemeier, Frazzled is heavily illustrated, embarrassingly honest, and sure to appeal to anyone in the middle of figuring out how to survive the everyday disasters of growing up.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062398796
  • ISBN-10: 0062398792
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Emotions & Feelings

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-06-13
  • Reviewer: Staff

Abbie Wu, a beleaguered middle child who is daunted to enter middle school, knows that “nothing good ever happens in the Middles,” as evidenced by the Middle Ages and the middle seat of the car. Yet her best friends are jumping right into middle school life and even having fun in their various electives, leaving Abbie feeling like a “sad reject pastry” in desperate need of a “thing” of her own. As the injustices of the middle school cafeteria mount, Abbie discovers a talent for social—or at least lunchroom—leadership. Could community organizing be her “thing”? Vivat’s funny, quick-moving debut skips along even faster thanks to the endearing doodles that appear throughout, punctuating Abbie’s travails with chibi-esque emotional outbursts featuring flailing limbs, speed lines, and exaggerated typography. Though this is, at heart, a straightforward story of social adjustment, Abbie and her supporting cast show real depth as they learn that passions can change, “not everything has to work out,” and no matter how confident some people may seem, “the truth is, no one really knows for sure.” Ages 8–12. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews