Coupon
For Freedom : The Story of a French Spy
by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley


Overview - From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank .  Read more...

 
Mass Market Paperback
  • Retail Price: $5.99
  • $4.79
    (Save 20%)
  • 10% Off for Members Club Price
    $ 4.31

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 67 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About For Freedom by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
 
 
 
Overview
From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank.
Suzanne David's everyday life is suddenly shattered in 1940 when a bomb drops on the main square of her hometown, the city of Cherbourg, France, killing a pregnant neighbor right in front of her. Until then the war had seemed far away, not something that would touch her or her teenage friends. Now Suzanne's family is kicked out onto the street as German soldiers take over their house as a barracks.
Suzanne clings to the one thing she really loves--singing. Her voice is so amazing that she is training to become an opera singer. As Suzanne travels around for rehearsals, cosume fittings, or lessons, she learns more about what the Nazis are doing and about the people who are "disappearing." Her travels are noticed by someone else, an organizer of the French Resistance. Soon Suzanne is a secret courier, a spy fighting for France and risking her own life for freedom.
STAR] "This taut, engrossing World War II novel instantly immerses readers, ... but] the real focus, however, is the skin-crawling suspense story about one of France's youngest spies. Each chapter brings new intrigue and often shocking revelations...resonat ing] with authenticity, excitement, and heart."-Booklist, Starred

STAR] "This suspenseful novel, ...based on a true story, moves swiftly into action...Filled, but not laden, with the events of the war, and peppered with French language and the culture of music, this novel will appeal to readers who enjoy history and espionage."-SLJ, Starred
STAR] "Based on Bradley s interviews with the real Suzanne, this is an exciting account of a girl s coming of age in a scary time. The historical context is neatly woven into the story."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred
"The action will have readers on the edge through the tense conclusion, and the epilogue is not to be missed."-The Bulletin
"A highly compelling look at the covert battle for freedom."-Publishers Weekly
An IRA Teachers' Choice
An ALA Amelia Bloomer Selection
A VOYA Top Shelf Fiction Selection
A New York Public Library Book Pick
A Bank Street College Best Book of the Year

From the Hardcover edition."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780440418313
  • ISBN-10: 0440418313
  • Publisher: Laurel Leaf Library
  • Publish Date: January 2005
  • Page Count: 192
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Military & Wars
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Europe

 
BAM Customer Reviews